A number of known personalities have died in road accidents in the past decade.

  • Mohammad Irfan (August 22, 1951 – March 10, 2016): A Samajwadi Party legislator, was killed in a road crash along with his driver when the vehicle lost control near Kachla Ghar in Badaun.

  • K.P. Yadav (1970 – March 10, 2016): While travelling with Mohammad Irfan, Samajwadi Party legislator, Mr Yadav, leader from the same party, died in a road accident after the car in which he was travelling lost control at Kachla Ghat in Badaun, Uttar Pradesh.

  • K. P. Yadav: A Samajwadi party leader, K.P. Yadav, was travelling with Mohammad Irfan when the driver of the vehicle lost control and their car turtled before hitting the tree near Kachla Ghar in Budayun.

  • Asit Sarkar: A Local Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader from West Bengal was killed in a hit-and-run case by a motorcyclist at Belakoba district, West Bengal on May 14, 2015.

  • K. Chandramouli and Mummaneni Venkata Subbaiah: Leaders from Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leaders, died in on the spot, on March 13, 2015, after their car lost control and rammed into a trolly at Budamgunta village of Kavali Mandal in Nellore district, Andhra Pradesh.

  • Vurelli Lakshma: A leader from Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) died on the spot on March 2, 2015, when a speeding bus rammed into her car at Mutyampeta of Dandepalli in Adibabad district, Andhra Pradesh.

  • Gopinath Munde (12 December 1949 – 3 June 2014): Senior leader of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Union Minister of Rural Development. Died in a road accident in New Delhi.

  • Shobha Nagi Reddy (16 November 1968 – 24 April 2014): Senior YSR Congress leader. Died in a road accident in Andhra Pradesh

  • Ruma Chatterjee: Former India international cyclist and chief coach of Cycling Federation of India. Died when hit by a speeding vehicle during a training session with 20 junior members while going to Noida from New Delhi on 18th June, 2013

  • S. M. Laljan Basha (1957 – 15 August 2013): Vice President of Telugu Desam Party, Member of the Rajya Sabha. Died in a road accident on 15 August 2013 when his vehicle rammed into the divider at Narkatpalli near Nalgonda on the Vijayawada Hyderabad national highway.

  • Samarpal Singh: BJP leader from Uttar Pradesh. Died in a road accident in Meerut in November 2013.

  • K. Yerran Naidu (23 February 1957 – 2 November 2012): Senior TDB leader and Union Minister. Died in a road accident in his native district Srikakulam, Andhra Pradesh.

  • Jaspal Singh Bhatti (3 March 1955 – 25 October 2012): Indian television personality famous for his satire. Died in a car accident near Shahkot in Nakodar area of the Jalandhar district on 25 October 2012.

  • Anand Abhyankar and Akshay Pendse: Anand Abhyankar, a renowned name in Marathi films, TV and theatre arena, and his colleague Akshay Pendse died in an accident on the Mumbai-Pune Expressway in 2012

  • Vanam Jhansi: Andhra Pradesh BJP State spokesperson died in a road accident on February 19, 2011 near Kadthal village of Amangal mandal in the district on Hyderabad-Srisailam road.

  • Varkala V. Radhakrishnan (21 August 1927 – 26 April 2010): Member of the 14th Lok Sabha, died battling injuries he suffered in a road accident when he was on his regular morning walk on 22 April 2010. He was knocked down by a truck from behind.

  • Dr. Sone Lal Patel (1950- 2009): National President of Apna Dal. Died in a road accident in Kanpur on Oct 17, 2009.

  • Capt. Kanwaljit Singh (1 September 1942 – 29 March 2009): Punjab Cooperation Minister and Shiromani Akali Dal’s General Secretary. He was injured in a road accident near Kharar on 29 March 2009 and died at PGIMER Chandigarh on the same day

  • Beverley O’Sullivan (16 January 1981 – 2 November 2009): Irish singer and actress from Dublin, Ireland. Died in a road accident in India in 2009.

  • Munawwar Hasan (May 15, 1964 – December 10, 2008): Member of Parliament from the Muzaffarnagar constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He was killed in a road accident near Palwal in Haryana

  • Sahib Singh Verma (15 March 1943– 30 June 2007): Senior vice-president of the Bharatiya Janata Party and Chief Minister of Delhi (1996–1998). Died on 30 June 2007, when his car collided with a truck near Jonaicha khurd, Shahajahanpur on the Jaipur-Delhi highway.

  • Kulwinder Dhillon (1975 – 19 March 2006): Indian Punjabi singer. Died in a road accident on the Phagwara-Banga road, near Behram village, on 19 March 2006.

  • Kalamandalam Hyderali (5 September 1946 – 5 January 2006): One of the best Kathakali singers of his generation, and the first non-Hindu artiste to make a mark in the four-century-old classical dance-drama from Kerala in south India. Died in a road accident on 5 January 2006.

  • Vidya Niwas Mishra (1926–2005): Scholar, a noted Hindi-Sanskrit littérateur, and a journalist. Died on February 14, 2005 in a road accident while on his way to Varanasi from Deoria

  • Dr. Shrikant Jichkar (September 14, 1954 – June 2, 2004): Senior leader of the Congress Party. Died in a road accident after his car, slammed into an oncoming bus at Dhamana Shivar on National Highway 6, about 40 kilometres west of Nagpur

  • Rajesh Pilot (1945–2000): A senior Congress Leader and a minister in the Government of India. Died on June 11, 2000 in a car accident near Jaipur.

  • Guru Hanuman (1901–1999): Legendary wrestling coach of India who coached many medal-winning wrestlers. Died in a road accident on 24 May 1999, near Meerut, on his way to Haridwar.

  • Gyani Zail Singh (5 May 1916 – 25 December 1994): Seventh President of India, serving from 1982 to 1987. Died of injuries after a car accident.

Click here to download the list in PDF format

Let us know your Comments or Suggestions

Connect with:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

3 + twelve =

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>